Living the Peek-a-boo Life

Are you living a peek-a-boo life?

You know, afraid to put your toe in the water. Afraid of failure. Afraid of success.

How will what I want change the way things are now? What if it isn’t what I want?

I did live like that for a while. Then I realized that life would pass me by and I would not have
accomplished anything. Oh, I would have lived. I would have affected people around me, but where
would the joy be? Where would the enthusiasm be?

Then I sat down and decided what I wanted out of life. I want joy. I want love. I want to bring that love and
joy to others.

How can I do that?

The decision is to do what I do well and what I love. Which is writing.

So, here I am. Writing. Hopefully, for you the reader.

Please leave a comment to let me know how I did. In the weeks ahead I will try to bring things here that are
fun, joyful and informative.

Thank you for reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Living the Peek-a-boo Life

  1. It’s interesting to me that you equate peek-a-boo with fear. I always thought it was a very brave game, filled with giggles, and I guess I think a peek-a-boo life means one has the opportunity to look into all the possibilities there are, even if it’s just the tiniest glimpse.

    Regardless, I love the direction you’re headed. I hope this week is filled to the brim with joy and laughter, and most of all that your writing brings that to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I soooo totally get this and you are right about living the lives we want to live. I love this question and struggle constantly with this issue too. Two books come to mind. Maybe they will be useful. One (from a Christian perspective and gently offered) is Let’s Write Devotionals by Melanie Stiles. Much of the advice applies easily to other writing topics. The second book, Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert has changed my mind about her work. She has grappled with the issue you mention to the point where I swear she lock picked my mind. Keep writing and don’t stop whatever you do. Enjoyed your post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know how I missed this post last week! Huzzah, you’re on WordPress now! So glad you’re over here!

    I LOVE your suggested practice of looking for the joy everywhere you go! I’ve practiced that with beauty…out of necessity and survival. It’s a good practice. I can’t wait to read more about your findings! Sometimes it’s around the most unexpected dark corners…

    Like

Leave a Reply

