Baffled, Bothered and Bewildered

I started a post a while ago about how humble I felt when I discovered a friend of mine had become a follower of my blog. Which could come under baffled, because I could not for the life of me think I would have anything that wonderful to say that would make someone follow what I had to say.

I know that I have readers and that they come back frequently, to see what I have to say. But somehow that follow business just made me feel really humble.

I was feeling humble and it bothered me. Not that I try to be boastful or anything like that, but what exactly had triggered this humbleness? The fact that I had a follower? It shouldn’t. It wasn’t the first time I had had a follower or a few, anyway.

Then, I knew why it made me humble.

It was someone I truly admire for their writing, for who they are. When you have someone you think is higher on the mountain, than you and they have taken a moment to look down and say, ” Hey, there is someone who could use a little encouragement, and I like what they say”. It is truly wonderful. So, now I am no longer bothered by it, by love it.

Bewilder is a bewildering word. Mostly because it has a kind of negative connotation for me. I think of it as wandering around trying to figure out what happened and how to handle it. And the dictionary says, “perplexed and confused”, so guess I am on the right track. So, according to the dictionary, perplexed takes us back to baffled.

I will enjoy the followers and the readers and hope y’all enjoy me.

I am so pleased that all of you who read my blog take the time to find out what this baffled, bothered and bewildered person has to say.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Baffled, Bothered and Bewildered

  1. I feel the same way as you do as in “why would someone follow me?” When I stop to think of it though, I know I like to follow people who write in a way which makes me feel good by making me laugh, or wonder, or remember the goodness of people. I follow you blog for that reason. I enjoy the honest voice and humorous heart which comes out in what you say. Great post. You always make me see something new.

    Like

  2. As someone who doesn’t have a large following, I can totally relate to your B post. I’m certainly flattered when someone opts in as a follower, but I’m mostly surprised, and pretty grateful. Your writing feels like chatting over a cup of coffee with you. People like that. Keep up the good work…I have a feeling more followers are coming. 😉

    Like

  3. Wait, what? Followers? I have have followers? Don’t follow me, I’m lost! Honestly, though, I totally understand what you mean. I don’t understand why anyone would find my ramblings the least bit interesting, but then it’s their time and I figure they can spend it any way they like. I just try to remember my manners and thank them for visiting.

    I’m glad you wrote this. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

