7 Things You Should Know About Marriage Longevity

 

 

This picture may not quite fit the title, but it does fit the content. When you have found someone with whom to share time, they are your cup o’ tea.

This past week we celebrated our 53rd wedding anniversary. When you get past the 50 year mark, people want to know how you did it.

I have been thinking on that and have come up with seven things you need to know about marriage longevity.

  1. As the joke goes, ” Don’t die!”. That’s pretty crucial.
  2. Forgive. Constantly. Yourself included. I find it is harder to forgive me than anyone else. That may be because I know what I had INTENDED to do and didn’t. I have no idea about your intentions.
  3. Have fun. Take the time to do ridiculous stuff. Ride a giraffe, if you can. Play mini golf, just to do it. Not to win.
  4. Play games together. Try not to be overly competitive. It’s hard, but you live with this person. Don’t LET them win, but be nice when they do.
  5. Do at least one thing a year that the other person wants to do and you don’t. It builds character and, golly, you may find a new interest.
  6. Talk. Seriously, talk about everything. You don’t have to share every single secret you have, but talk. Have a real conversation where you exchange ideas and feelings.
  7. Love, love, love your partner. And with that love give 100 per cent of your attention, participation and love. I know that’s repetitive, but necessary. I leave you with this: Use this list to make your own for how you have had a long-time relationship.
12 thoughts on “7 Things You Should Know About Marriage Longevity

    1. You are right, Dee. They work for any relationship, but my longest relationship is my marriage that is where I started. I have been a sister to two brothers longer, but that is not a 24/7 relationship! Thanks for reading, enjoying and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations–this is a huge accomplishment, and I take your words to heart. I love #6 and would like to add to it–don’t have dinner in front of the television because talking will be assumed but not actually happen. It’s amazing what we find out when we save the television watching until after we’ve caught up on the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lots of stuff happens in the daytime when we aren’t together, doesn’t it? Lots of stuff happens in the daytime when we are together and the rehashing of those times is almost as much fun as telling new stuff. Glad that you enjoyed and commented.

      Like

  2. I love this. Sometimes I get too serious about my relationship, but this shows me that it helps to lighten up and just have fun with them!
    Number 5 could be tough, I am a creature of habit and very suspicious of new things, but it could be exhilarating!
    Thank you for sharing your wisdom!!
    And congratulations on 53 years!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

