Of Bifocals, iPhones and Technology

If you have been reading my blog here, you know I am technologically challenged.

I have had several people tell me that they cannot copy and paste. I hear ’em. I have conquered that particular part of technology. Mostly.

When I needed bifocals, I thought no big deal. And really it wasn’t. I just didn’t use them. They were there. It was just easier to whip them off and read without them. I am near sighted and it just comes with the territory.

My hearing can make it challenging, too. Not that I have a noticeable problem, I just hear what I want to hear: I always thought I was near-sided and often wondered what that meant. Then I read it and understood.

Bifocals were no big deal until I couldn’t read without them, then I had to learn. My learning curve can be pretty steep sometimes.

Then bifocals didn’t help with the computer. So, I now have TWO pairs of glasses: one for driving and reading and one for reading and doing computer and table games.

Okay. I now have mastered bifocals and some technology.

We now get to move to iphones. We have had a flip phone for over 13 years now. Please wipe the tears from your laughing face. It has worked well. I have even managed to learn to text on it. And if you ever received one of texts you might know that.

So, our daughter offered to let us have one of her old iphones, meaning it is less than two years old, and we finally accepted.

My hubby was not happy to move from his flip phone. He can answer, call and even pick up texts with it, so not looking forward to learning new stuff.

I was excited to move further into the technology age.

And now I have.

We added another line and let hubby keep his flip phone and they gave me the old number we had so that I could get all the calls.

How do you answer this thing again?

I promise, I. Will. Learn.

Come join me on this journey.

5 thoughts on “Of Bifocals, iPhones and Technology

  1. I am putting off new glasses, because I’m sure it is almost time for bifocals. Or a second pair to use for the computer.

    I say let your children or grandchildren teach you how to use the phone. My 4 year old great nephew knows how to navigate YouTube!

    Like

  2. Oh, I totally relate to this!!! I could never adjust to bifocals. Am longsighted and kept falling over when I wore them! Now I have two pairs of progressives – one for normal, one for working at computer. My smartphone drives me CRAZY. So fiddly. You’re not alone!

    Like

  3. I have only worn glasses for the last 8 years–and I am still not used to them. I wonder if I ever will be? Like you, I have a separate pair of glasses for the computer, another to read with, and another to drive. It can be quite interesting to see what I “see” without them!

    Like

  4. Haha … well, yes, bifocals are on my horizon too, although I’m not technologically challenged. I want to encourage you – technology USED to be hard. It isn’t any more. You’ll get there, you have the desire – and remember, today’s technology just isn’t something you have learned – YET.

    Like

Leave a Reply

