I is for Imagery

Imagery is the art of making the scene as plain as a picture. It is in every article, book, and diary ever written.

Imagery is the ability to bring onto the page what you are seeing, whether it is in your mind or in front of your eyes.

It isn’t easy, because we have this really great little guy that lives in our heads and perches on our shoulders that says,” Um, that’s not quite right.” And when you question him he says, ” I don’t know. But, it’s not quite write.”

And you start over, even if you think it is okay. Well, of course, we can’t settle for just okay, even if it wouldn’t be settling. I find a lot of times, that when I start over, and over and over, I wind up back at the same set of words that I started with.Which means I was right, and I should have trusted my instinct, another I word.

As I look out my window I see the woods across the street that are still only half leaved out. I can see the sun sparkling on the lake water through the trees that still have holes.

Now, that imagery is okay. It sets the scene, but doesn’t give much detail or explain why we are there.

As I look out the window watching the sun sparkle on the lake, a shadow falls across the lake as an eagle dives from the sky.

These are both good but the second one gives movement to the scene and that is what you want to achieve. Whatever scene you have you need movement to the next scene and hopefully it will move the storyline along as well.

Here is to vivid imagery and great writing. Well, not sucky writing, anyway.

As always, please leave a comment and share your imagery.

3 thoughts on “I is for Imagery

  1. There are so many components to good stories and imagery can be a key one that gets lost in the muddle.

    This year I am laying out the plot of a new historical fiction novel over my 26 A to Z posts. I’d love to have you stop by.

    The Steel Horse Saviors is a story about three civil war veterans who head west in 1866 with their Steam Locomotive to seek their fortune. They encounter a beautiful redhead trying desperately to save her family business that threatens to complicate their plan to escape their past.

    Joe @ the Fiction Playground visiting from the A to Z Challenge

    Like

  2. Imagery is so important. I get these visuals in my head even as I listen to someone speak and as I keep telling my daughters, some of them are downright disgusting…. :D. Thanks for dropping by, enjoying your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

